From the Desk of Dean Karen Grosby

Please join me in congratulating Linda Sobell who received one of the most prestigious awards given at NSU - The President's Distinguished Professor Award of Excellence.

This follows the CPS faculty committee nomination of her as CPS Professor of the Year. This award recognizes superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Through this award, Nova Southeastern University demonstrates pride in the accomplishments and personal dedication of its faculty. The award is conferred upon faculty who achieved national and/or international prominence and have earned a distinguished reputation through significant contributions to research and scholarship and instruction. The honorary title of President's Distinguished Professor was bestowed at the faculty reception on October 15, 2014.

Dr. Sobell has been recognized as a national and international leader in addiction research and cognitive behavior therapy. Her research has been highly influential and she has been a national leader in identifying and developing important research areas.

Her development of and research on the Timeline Followback (TLFB) method of gathering reports of alcohol and drug use, smoking, and other behaviors has stimulated a considerable amount of research and has made the TLFB the most highly regarded psychometric method for obtaining information on addictive behaviors. More than 120 peer reviewed TLFB psychometric studies have been published and it has been used in over 250 published studies. A search of Google Scholar using the term "Timeline Followback" identified more than 5,900 items. Also, the TLFB is accepted as a measure of substance use by the FDA and the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction.

Another area where her research has demonstrated leadership and has been very influential is natural recovery or self-change from alcohol and drug problems. Self-change refers to individuals recovering from substance use problems on their own, without treatment or self-help groups. This line of research led her to conduct several studies promoting self-change from alcohol problems, another new and important research area. This line of research found that persons who have mild to moderate alcohol problems (not severe) and have never been in treatment can benefit substantially from brief intervention materials delivered by mail, over the internet, and most recently by a smartphone App.

A search of the Social Sciences Citation Index found that the 10 most cited papers where Dr. Sobell is senior author have been cited 1,969 times to date, and a Google Scholar search found 14,567 citations for her publications, including 4.615 from 2009 to 2014.

Dr. Sobell is a Fellow in 6 divisions of the American Psychological Association, is Board Certified in Cognitive and Behavioral Psychology, and serves on the Board of Trustees of the American Board of Professional Psychology. She has published over 285 articles and book chapters and 8 books, given over 300 invited presentations/workshops all over the world, and serves on 8 peer-review journal editorial boards. She is past president of the Society of Clinical Psychology of the APA and of the Association for Advancement of Behavior Therapy.

In recognition of her research accomplishments, she has received several awards including the Betty Ford Award; Norman E. Zinberg Memorial Lecture Award, Cambridge Hospital and Harvard Medical School; Shepard Science Award for the most outstanding peer-reviewed research paper on prevention and control published by Centers for Disease Control/ATSDR scientists; and most recently she received the 2014 Jellinek Memorial Award for outstanding contributions to knowledge in the field of alcohol studies. Given in the area of Behavioral Studies (Clinical and Experimental) every four years, this international prize is widely considered to be the most prestigious award given in the alcohol field. For over three decades she has been the recipient of grants from several federal agencies.

Dr. Sobell joins Dr. Nathan Azrin and Dr. Mark Sobell who have received major awards from NSU.

Karen S. Grosby, Ed.D.

Dean