Top of Page
Skip main navigation
Gay/Straight Student Alliance


Logo: PRISMPRISM (Psychological Readiness Integrating Sexual Minorities) is committed to promoting a welcoming climate for sexual-minority students (i.e., Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender) and non-sexual-minority students who are interested in working together to achieve a better understanding of the GLBT population (including queer, questioning, intersex, allies, asexual, and pansexual individuals). It strives to enhance training and research in GLBT counseling and psychotherapy. Formerly known as the Gay-Straight Student Alliance, or GSSA.

As part of its mission PRISM seeks to

  • Provide an advising and support service for sexual minority students.
  • Provide non-sexual minority students with a better understanding of the needs, lifestyles, assessment and psychotherapy with the GLBT population.
  • Encourage research in GLBT issues.
  • Represent the College of Psychology at national and international conventions in the specific area of GLBT counseling and psychotherapy.
  • Provide in service colloquia and other seminars in the area of GLBT counseling and psychotherapy.
  • Assist the Director of Academic Affairs and the Director of Clinical Training in modifying and augmenting professional training in the area of GLBT counseling and psychotherapy.
  • Provide outreach volunteer services in order to assist the local GLBT population.

Consistent with its mission PRISM has also become active in various community service venues. For example, PRISM was a co-sponsor and members served as volunteers at the SunServe Social Services Center. This organization holds an annual GLBT family conference entitled "Valuing Our Families." PRISM members have also volunteered their time at the Poverello Center (a local HIV/AIDS community based food bank and thrift store) and at the Fort Lauderdale Gay and Lesbian Community Center (GLCC).

PRISM encourages everyone to attend its meetings.

Executive Board 2020-2021
President Dayna Rotshtyn
Vice President Troy Thisler
Treasurer Giovanna Basilio
Secretary Natalya De Gracia
Public Relations Benjamin Shepherd
Volunteer Coordinator Alyssa Stein
Historian Julie Gittelson
Faculty Advisor(s) Dr. Jan Faust & Dr. Timothy Moragne
Return to top of page